Kicking Back and Surfing 

The feeling of almost complete freedom and relaxation that we feel in just two and a half weeks is quite hard to describe. It is surprising once routine is broken how much space you can feel in the mind.

Spending a week near the Great Ocean Road was super relaxing and allowed us to kick back big style, especially when down the beach. I took the chance to watch the sunrise and catch up on my journal one morning, it was amazing to absorb the atmosphere.


We also took a trip to Bells Beach near Torquay. It hosts a round of the World Surf League each year and to stand on the boardwalk over looking the famous break was humbling. The waves weren’t world class when we were there, but it was amazing all the same. After two tantalising weeks of looking at awesome waves it was now time to do what I enjoy most, surfing. 

Back near Ocean Grove we found a board hire shop and I chose one which stood out. I wasn’t fussy, anything would do at this stage. Paddling out into the sea I couldn’t help but think of the possibility of sharks or white pointers as the locals call them. I knew it was irrational and ignored it as best I could. Once out past the breakers I sat on the board absorbing the atmosphere. Before I knew it a lovely clean turquoise lump rose out the sea, I turned to the land and paddled hard. I felt the momentum take the board and I popped up to my feet. Suddenly the previously heavy feeling board came alive beneath me. As I peeled off the back of the wave after a nice ride I was grinning from ear to ear. Catching my first Southen Hemisphere wave felt incredible, all worries of sharks evaporated and I carried on riding for the next couple hours. Finished off by some sunbaking on the beach with Corker.

Afterwards we rewarded ourselves with our first Australian iced chocolates, which Ally’s cousins highly recommended. They were good, very good – see the photos below. 



We’ve now had a couple days back near Melbourne, and it’s been great to stop and reflect on the previous two weeks, what an amazing journey so far. Plans have been put in place for our next stop, Sydney. We’re looking forward to hitting the road. 

One thought on “Kicking Back and Surfing 

Leave a Reply

